Do you have questions about the Herrmann Brain Dominance Instrument (HBDI)? This HBDI series answer some of the basics about the HBDI assessment, the process, interpretation and what the benefits are if you take the HBDI.

What is the HBDI?

The HBDI is an assessment that measure thinking preferences. Your thinking preferences are not based in psychology, your HBDI preferences are tied to your physiological makeup – more specifically your brain.

What are the major components of the HBDI model?

The Herrmann Brain Dominance Instrument (HBDI) is often referred to as the Whole Brain Model. It is an easy model to grasp at the macro level; however there are layers of interpretation that are not obvious.

There are four quadrants:

  • A or Blue Quadrant
  • B or Green Quadrant
  • C or Red Quadrant
  • D or Yellow Quadrant

Fundamentally, the A & B quadrants represent the left side of the brain and the C & D quadrants the right side of the brain.

There are certain characteristics of each quadrant and depending on your level of preference (low to very high); you will have different scores in each quadrant.

The characteristics of each quadrant are:

A Quadrant

  • Logic
  • Technical
  • Financial
  • Factual
  • Quantitative

B Quadrant

Whole Brain Model by Herrmann International

  • Organized
  • Detailed
  • Structured
  • Low risk
  • Planned

C Quadrant

  • Emotional
  • Feeling
  • Spiritual
  • Kinesthetic
  • Sensory

D Quadrant

  • Spatial
  • Holistic
  • Intuitive
  • Innovative
  • Conceptual
  • Risk taker

What kind of information do you get when you take the HBDI?

After you take the assessment, you will receive your unique HBDI profile. Your HBDI profile consists of a profile score, profile preference code and adjective pairs (stress profile). There are accompanying materials that help to explain:

  • The background of HBDI
  • How to read your HBDI profile step by step
  • How to compare your HBDI profile to others
  • Ways to explore your HBDI profile with ideas and exercises

The HBDI profile information may overwhelm you the first time you review it. An HBDI certified practitioner will explain your results and provide an accurate interpretation of your unique HBDI profile. If something doesn’t make sense, ask questions!

Is the HBDI a simple assessment?

Clients like the layout of the four quadrant HBDI model – it is easy to understand however, the HBDI becomes more complex when you put it into action. Often there is confusion identifying some activities or behaviors in the proper quadrant. To be honest, it takes practice to learn how to identify the preferences for each quadrant and that is one of the benefits of working with an HBDI certified practitioner and reading this HBDI question series.

Is the HBDI free?

Certified HBDI practitioners are able to purchase the assessment materials and have access to the online HBDI assessment center. It is unlikely you will be able to find the HBDI being offered for free on the internet.

Why do HBDI Practitioners require a feedback session?

It is understandable that you might want to get your HBDI results sent to you and move on. Take a moment to reconsider your options, If you are going to pay for the assessment, you are entitled to get the maximum value from what the assessment tells you.

Certified HBDI practitioners take specific training and are approved by HBDI to interpret your results and help you get the most out of your personal investment.

Where can you take the HBDI?

Any certified HBDI practitioner can administer the assessment. Your company may offer the HBDI with team or leadership development. Find out more about receiving HBDI results with Lynn Dessert here, either as an individual, group, or company.

The HBDI Question Series: Part 2 will ask some of the tougher questions you may have with interpreting your own HBDI results.